Pertronix in D2?


Forum designed for the D series and older

User avatar

Site Admin
Site Admin

Posts: 105

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:23 pm

Location: Verona, WI

Post Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:44 am

Re: Pertronix in D2?

Tony,

That's excellent information. I haven't decided whether to go that route yet (as I am quite happy with how the engine is running) but it is great to know that I have the option.

John

"Cornelius" - The "Rolling Restoration" of a 1939 IHC D-2 Pickup - 113" W / GRD-214 Engine
New Website - "Restoring Cornelius"

Rookie
Rookie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:58 am

Post Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: Pertronix in D2?

Hello. Tony-when you said that you modified the pertronix, what do you mean? I just purchased the same unit and it’s slightly too large to fit in the distributor head. Did you grind the unit down all around to make it smaller to fit? Did you have to drill any holes? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Bartman39D2

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Posts: 27

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:57 am

Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Post Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:08 pm

Re: Pertronix in D2?

Here is a picture of the pertronix unit mounted inside of my distributor.

IMG_20180104_163206 (Large).jpg


IMG_20180104_163221 (Large).jpg

Rookie
Rookie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:58 am

Post Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:15 pm

Re: Pertronix in D2?

Thanks for the photo. Did you have to drill new holes in the Pertronix mounting bracket? Did you use the existing holes or drill
New ones? Did you cut away most of the mounting bracket leaving only what you see mounted with the screws? Also what did you set the air gap at?
Thanks
Bartman39D2

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Posts: 27

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:57 am

Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Post Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:47 am

Re: Pertronix in D2?

Bartman39D2, your testing my memory. It was over 10 years ago that I installed it so I can't remember the exact details. Looking at the picture it seems I removed the points from the holding plate and cut the plate the pertronix unit is mounted on so that it fit inside the distributor. Probably drilled new holes and taped the original base so I could screw it down easily. before you complete the final mount, install the magnet ring so that you can place the pertronix unit with the correct air gap. I'm sure the required gap is in the installation manual.
Previous

Return to 1940 and Older

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.