Getting an R110 - sat for LONG time

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Freshly Restored
Freshly Restored

Post Thu May 10, 2018 9:43 am

Getting an R110 - sat for LONG time

I'm new to the forum. Thanks for having me. I'm somewhat handy with mechanics but I am by no means a professional. I do have lots of friends that are much better than me though.

My great grandmothers farm has what looks to be an IH R110 4 speed sitting in the corn crib. I don't think the farm is going to be in the family much longer so I started seeing what I might be interested in getting for sentimental reasons. Talked to my uncle and I'm looking to get the truck. Price is $1500 (lots of family). I'm probably not going to be able to go look it over for a couple weeks.

He told me the starter went out in it about 35 years ago and it has sat under roof ever since. I asked him if it has hydraulic brakes and he says it does but the lines are dry rotted. Has a little bit of rust here and there but is pretty solid overall.

I'm going to make a couple trips to look it over. What are the things on a truck like this that I should do or look over?

At this point I think the engine is what I'm worried about most. Should it be an SD220? Hard to find info on these trucks. With it having sat for 35 years should I try to start it or go straight to a tear down? I'm not sure yet if it is seized. It seems like it is a nightmare and $$$$$ rebuilding these old engines.

I would like to keep it as original as possible but if I decide to do an engine swap what is the best/easiest choice for these trucks.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Thu May 10, 2018 11:49 am

Re: Getting an R110 - sat for LONG time

good looking sheet metal, engines are available, I think VWjake has a few,

pull off the starter, they are fairly easy to field repair unless drive gear exploded then to you need to rebuild it,