Flywheel Questions

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:59 pm

Flywheel Questions

I plan to replace the clutch on my 54 R-120, soon. Is there a possibility that the flywheel
cannot be resurfaced.. As- I've heard this can happen when they are exposed to too
much heat. The clutch is slipping just slightly- so, I don't think there is too much
heat build-up the the flywheel; however, I don't know for sure because I'm not experienced in these matters.
If I end up having to buy another flywheel, are they readily available?
Thanks for any help.
Paul

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:13 am

Re: Flywheel Questions

You can not know the condition of the flywheel until you see it with the clutch and pressure plate removed.
If the flywheel is heat checked the pressure plate will most likely show the same damage.
A professional surface reconditioning by surface grinding of the flywheel, a new clutch disc and pressure plate should have your truck back on the road.
I'm sure that You Tube will have a video.
I would rather have tools I do not need than to need tools I do not have
Artificial intelligence is no match for real stupidity....

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:09 am

Thank you.
That makes sense. I'll deal with it when I do the clutch.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:09 am

It is good practice to support the transmission while the transmission is being removed and more important when installing it. If the transmission is allowed to hang on to clutch disc, the transmission input shaft will bend the splined center coupling and the clutch disc will wobble and not release.
Using an alignment tool for the clutch disc installation can make the alignment with the pilot bushing/bearing the center of the flywheel easier. If the disc is not centered it is nearly impossible to install the transmission.