Frame that fits 1951 L110

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:01 am

Frame that fits 1951 L110

I'm looking for a Fran that would fit my l110 I was thinking a s10 frame would work but wanted to run it by u guys first
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Frame that fits 1951 L110

In my opinion, a Dodge Dakota frame is a better fit.

Dean
Lifelong Kansan
Grew up with red paint
Moved off the farm 33 years ago.

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:26 am

Ok awesome another question. Could u give me some specs on this truck maybe? Like tire sizes and HP things like that.. I'm about to start the restoration soon and I'm thinking about just fixing the i6 that's in it but not sure how fast it will go... Thank u so much!

Ps I'm kinda new at this and I'm a young buck so all the info is much appreciated!

Site Admin
Site Admin

Post Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:45 am

these are not a fast running engine, but when running will do it all day long. Figure that a "sweet" spot in RPM will get you the best MPG and about 55MPH comfortably. I had mine up to 65MPH and RPM was higher. A change of a rear end to a late 80's/mid 90's ford explorer 8.8 rear and higher gear ratio will get you 65MPH and decent RPM. Also gives you better brakes and there are upgrades(disk conversion) you can do to the front brakes. You could install a Turbo on the motor, one of the Members has done that, he is the leading mind here on that little change(not cheap) There are some other things you can do to improve the performance of the motor, but Still a Work horse motor, not a race horse.