Newbie with some questions

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Rookie
Rookie

Post Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:18 am

Newbie with some questions

Hi all,

First off want to say what a great site this is. Lots of good info for a rookie like myself to try and do it right the first time. This is my first project so i'm gonna have lots of questions along the way. For my first project I have a L110 with a pretty bad cab. No problem I have a parts L130 which the cab is decent but both grilles are shot. My grandpa also had a S160 which is a running 2 ton and the cab is in good condition. My plan was to make a L110 out of the 2 trucks and maybe someday fix up the S160 a bit but since he past away it got me wondering if the S160 cab would fit on the L110 frame. I do like the S160 cab better, and it would make for a easier project to get finished for my first time (less body work and a working engine on the S160) plus would mean more to me having a daily driving 1/2 ton truck out of my grandpa's old truck. My question is will this work? Will it look right? anyone have experience doing something like this? Any help or comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Site Admin
Site Admin

Post Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:33 am

Re: Newbie with some questions

For those that are visual like myself, some pictures of each would help. What engine does the S160 have? Look the frame for both over. The L frame is straight/level is the S160 the same? I also think that you will find that the frame might be wider on the S160. If both frames are straight and the engine is an inline 6 on the S160, Then I think with some work you could probably do what you want. Oh, What steering box does the S160 have, is it the same as the L and in the same place? All things to consider. Most anything can be done, it is never just bolt on when you go from one generational vehicle to another. Mostly takes lots of planning, money, Time.