Drive into the city

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jun 28, 2021 11:29 pm

Drive into the city

Last week, I decided (on impulse) to drive my truck to work (I work as a butcher in San Francisco). I didn't even remove the 3 bales of hay I happened to have in in the bed. It's interesting how demanding driving a vintage vehicle can be, in the context of modern traffic.My trucks' original motor has been replaced with a V8; but, still- I became even more aware of how fast the flow of traffic is in relation to posted speed limits. In a modern car the performance thresholds allow me the luxury of not thinking about any of this. I've been commuting to this job for nearly 30 years; and, this is the first time I took the truck. Although I really enjoyed the trip, the drive was more demanding than usual.
Attachments
IMG_20210614_194959~2.jpg
IMG_20190812_104740743~3.jpg

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Tue Jun 29, 2021 7:48 am

Re: Drive into the city

I like driving my truck, too. Because I drove it to work in its original condition for a few years, I have much appreciation for what you experienced. So, when I was able to finally do a rebuild, I wanted modern suspension and safety devices that weren’t original to the truck. It now has all those things and I feel much better about driving in today’s traffic. Up grades include: air conditioning, 3-point seat belts, independent front suspension, 4-wheel disc brakes, improved horsepower, electric wipers, LED lighting, third brake light and my rear view mirrors have LEDs that flash along with the turn signals. It’s still an old truck because it’s original design was meant for slower highway speeds, but now at least it’s outfitted with what it needs to perform in today’s traffic. However, now I’m retired and driving to work in it is not an option. So I’ll just enjoy driving it.
L110 owner since 1974, finally rebuilt 2014.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Tue Jun 29, 2021 2:59 pm