Electric A/C

IHC in the early to mid-fifties.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Wed Apr 28, 2021 7:24 am

Electric A/C

After stumbling on to a solution to an overheating problem, I’ve begun contemplating changing the source of energy powering my A/C compressor. I found that I had been losing radiator coolant gradually due to a leaky cap. The cap was replaced and the engine now runs consistently at a reasonable temperature. However, this being Florida, A/C is a vital component of motoring down the highway and when I turn it on the temp gauge rises to a level that concerns me. Being one to wonder how things could be better, the light bulb over my head turned on when I thought about hybrid and all electric cars (and trucks) have A/C and they’re electric operated. What if I utilized one of those, my engine should run at its reasonable temperature, and not rise higher when the A/C is turned on. I am just beginning to research this idea, so I decided to present the topic here and see what kind of response I got from you guys. As far as the compressor is concerned, it’s mechanical and shouldn’t matter what powers it. My questions are more oriented toward the electrical side and wire sizes and wiring in general. Also will this extra load on the battery cause problems? Do you think my Vintage Air system controls will be adaptable to operate this new configuration? I’m open to input from you guys and what am I overlooking?
L110 owner since 1974, finally rebuilt 2014.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:15 am

Re: Electric A/C

The energy source is the engine. The AC compressor will require the same amount of energy, mechanical or electric.
Your heating problem is from the AC condenser. This is where the heat absorbed in the evaporator by the refrigerant is transferred to the outside air. The now heated air passes through the radiator. The radiator cannot cool the engine adequately with the addition of hot air.