The old and reliable.

Rookie
Rookie

Post Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:52 am

Morning to all. I'm new to thus forum. It was suggested that you all might be able to help me. I'm restoring a 28 fire truck on a gramm chassis. It has a 15h continental 6 cylinder engine that is repairable, but not cost effective. So a repower is in order. After looking many hours on the net, I think I have narrowed it down to a continental r6602 or a rd450. I really need to use my original transmission. The bellhousing is 20 7/8" diameter 12-3/8 bolts. I figured I would have to use a custom adaptor plate. I don't want to go diesel as that would not be period correct. What are your thoughts? Thanks Mike

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:38 pm

Re: New member

Welcome to the madness. There is lots of Old IHC information on this forum.
I am the guy who will most likely suggest something from Cummins to power your truck. You should power your truck in any way that makes you feel good. At one time Cummins was an engine supplier to IHC. If you decide to put some rumble under your hood, you will like the power and economy. If you do not say anything only you and CB89 will know the difference.
I would rather have tools I do not need than to need tools I do not have
Thinking risks being controversial and possibly being offensive

Rookie
Rookie

Post Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:43 pm

Thanks for the welcome. I'm not apposed to diesels or Cummings. After many many hours of research, diesels we not used in the gramm trucks. My fire truck has a 6.9 to 1 rear end. The engine specs are na so I calculated the horsepower at 75. It's 529 cu in. Don't know torque either. I'm just looking for ideas as I haven't committed to anyone engine yet. Mike

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Sat Mar 30, 2019 7:26 pm

I'm the one who suggested the RD series over on the 'stak. The #1 bell is going to be the problem, but if you are will to use an adaptor, that will not be a problem.