I need a hug. Any "Cheap SOBs" here?

The old and reliable.

Rusty Driver
Rusty Driver

Post Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:44 pm

I need a hug. Any "Cheap SOBs" here?

I have been restoring old cars and car parts for over 50 years. I know there are companies out here doing repro products. For the most part they do a great job and I have used them often. Only because I couldn't do the restore myself. I have made parts for everything from cars to vintage woodworking machines to sewing machines and now a 1947 IHC KB-2 truck.

I do it because I like reproducing the part I need. Recently I was called a cheap SOB from THE CHEAPEST SOB I have ever know. Talk about irony!
I explained that I did this because I like to.

Am I weird, or are there other "Cheap SOBs" doing this?
1947 KB-2
1952 Morris Minor MM (RHD)
1984 Mercedes Benz 380SL
2000 BMW 528i (240,000 Mi.)
1979 Benelli G2 Moped (39 Mi.)

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: I need a hug. Any "Cheap SOBs" here?

You are weird for thinking you have to ask. Maybe you need a little positive recognition instead of a hug. Don't come here for a hug, you might get kicked in the butt.
If you are getting the comments that bother you from members of any forum, that is to be expected. All forums, including this forum, to a much lesser degree, have peanut-gallery critics. Unless a person can show me something they built anything they have to say or criticise has no credibility here.
I am 73 this year and I have not mellowed in my old age, in fact I have become much less tolerant. Many of the guys I used to ride with and liked have died and the few who remain and occasionally visit know their "place".
My neighbours seldom visit and this is the way I like it. Years ago I put prices on everything, no more free-bees and the visitor line-up dropped to zero.