1953 R110 Old Blue

The place to put your L, R and S "Build Off" story.

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:07 pm

1953 R110 Old Blue

Der she blows!
motherefffinntruck.jpg
Been working on her for some time now (yes I know, how terrible for me to keep everyone out of the loop) and I figured it was time to share the fun! I'll be posting quite a bit as I can't seem to keep myself away from working on it. Now i'm no master mechanic and I don't have an impressive shop by any means but I always seem to get by, some of you might cringe at my jerry-rigs and others might burst out laughing, but they always get the job done!

Lookin forward to posting more
Bricker
Last edited by BrickerJohnny on Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:10 pm

Re: 1953 R110 Old Blue

nice to meet you jerry-rig, good lookin truck, baling wire is my middle name
Gentle Men! you can't fight in here! This is the war room!

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:38 pm

Here is another picture of the truck, better highlighting the patina.
Truck side view.jpg

Also, a few weeks ago I was driving home from work and saw what looked like a broken down 1950 circa IH on the side of the road. I could barely believe it so of course I pulled over a block away and walked up to the truck. Sure as day, a 1952 L series! I talked to the guy who said he just bought it from Wisconsin (dang cheese heads) and planned on converting it into a major rat rod, dropping a 429 in there and of course switching the chassis.
Random IH.jpg

I asked him what he was going to do with the chassis and SD and he told me he was up for ideas. I expressed interest in buying it from him, figured it'd be worth every penny. I talked to him again a few days ago over the phone and he told me he was willing to sell it to me and that I had first picking.