'54 R-100 Preservation

The place to put your L, R and S "Build Off" story.

Yard Art
Yard Art

Post Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:54 pm

'54 R-100 Preservation

This project wasn't so much of a build-off as it was a rehabilitation and preservation. Before I go into what we all did to it, I should tell you how I came across it. I'm a high school teacher in the Pierce, NE area and was volunteering at a parking lot that the school was running during the Lambrecht car auction last August. I was telling another local about a R-100 that was out at the auction but in really rough shape that sold for almost 8 grand. He mentioned that he had one as his first truck and still had it in a corn crib a few miles from town but didn't want to sell it out of fear that it would get chopped and hot rodded. I told him that if he ever wanted to sell it, that I like to preserve these old trucks. Over the next 4 months I ran across another guy that had a pair of S-series trucks down by Grand Island for sale and spent all my disposable income (I'm a teacher so it really wasn't that much to begin with) on them. About a week before Christmas, we got a call from the Pierce guy saying he thought it over and was ready to sell the truck. Two days later, after convincing my dad that it would make a great father-son project and was worth his investment in, we went to Pierce and got it.

The guy we bought it from was the second owner and had had it since the early 70's. It was completely original and had very little rust other than the surface from sitting in an open shed for the last 20-30 years.