My L110 Rebuild

The place to put your L, R and S "Build Off" story.

Rookie
Rookie

Post Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:40 pm

My L110 Rebuild

Here goes my attempt at bringing a binder back to life. It's a great site like this that makes me feel that a project like this is even possible for a guy like me. Here's my before picture:

Start January 11 of 2014.JPG

I’m not going to rush through this project, my summers get pretty busy so winter is when I have more time to work on the L110 but am determined to get it back on the road someday. I am by no means an expert but am a good listener, so I’ll be looking for a lot of advice especially since this truck is determined to fight me all the way. Previous owner told me the oh so common “running a few years ago” story but I’m seeing that might have been a stretch. Here’s the catch up story. In the past few months I’ve got the truck stripped down to the frame, motor was stuck so my hope was just from sitting awhile we’ll break it loose. WRONG! Removed the head to get a look and get some oil soaking on the pistons and found a whole new problem. Cracked sleeve.

Cracked cylinder sleve 2.JPG

So out came the engine and off to the shop where it sits, they are backed up and I haven’t got the call on what the damage will be as of yet. Not a problem lots of other stuff to keep me busy! I got the frame sand blasted a week ago and managed to get a coat of primer on it the other day. Always looks good with some new paint.

Primed frame 2.JPG

Brakes were stripped I found out in the tear down process so I’ve determined it’s as good as time as any to get some disk brakes on the old girl. Talking with the guys at TSM to get a set made for the back, so hope that all goes smoothly. Here we go........

Rusty Driver
Rusty Driver

Post Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: My L110 Rebuild

Looks like your off to a good start, keep us updated and don't hesitate to ask questions.