1936 C1 frame twist

Forum designed for the D series and older

Rookie
Rookie

Post Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:33 am

1936 C1 frame twist

This a question for someone who has built one of these trucks. I am setting up the suspension and have the frame mounted on two engine stands as a frame rotisserie. The frame has a good bit of twist in the long direction. By locking the front so it can't rotate I can rotate the rear and remove the twist or at least most of it indicating that the frame is quite flexible. I want to get the twist out. The crossmembers are solidly fastened and I cannot detect any slippage at the factory rivets. I am going to at least partially box the frame rails to at least past the transmission crossmember. If I twist the frame straight and hold it in that condition as I add the boxing plates do you think it will stay straight? I am assuming that boxing the frame rails will stiffen them and prevent the flexing. I have never done this before so I need advice from someone who has. Thank you. I should add that when I had the frame upright and sitting on the rear suspension and jack stands at the very front it did not have much if any twist checked with a level at the rear and at the front crossmember. The front frame arms are not perfect due to a wreck many years ago before I go the truck but it appears to have been straightened by a frame shop; i.e., they did a good job.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Fri Jun 08, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: 1936 C1 frame twist

Do not box the frame. It is very likely the frame will be destroyed with unintended heating and the metallurgy will change and not for the better.
I do not know what your welding skill level is, but I think it is safe to assume you are not a professional since you asked this frame welding question. Here is an example of welding doomed to fail. It was done by an amateur on this forum. This sort of welding is only a little stronger than bath-tub calking.