Different Fuels?

When what have does not fit one of the other categories, then this is the place to post it.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:09 am

Different Fuels?

Hi,

Not really sure where to ask this, but perhaps someone here can tell me.

What is the practical difference between Diesel #1, Diesel #2, red or clear diesel, Kerosene, Home heating oil, winter and summer blends and what is interchangeable for use in home heaters and diesel trucks and other ag equipment? I've heard some people say they can run diesel in their home heaters instead of the much more expensive kerosene with no problem (despite what the fuel sellers say) and I've heard other people say it can't be done with diesel at all because it smells so bad.

Being from Southern Calif I have no practical experience with any fuel other than gasoline and natural gas, but the extremely high cost of heating fuel in Northern Calif is killing me. What is interchangeable?

Thank you for your comments.

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:02 am

Re: Different Fuels?

1st diesel: the difference between red (ag) and clear, is that clear diesel has had the road tax collected at the point of retail sale. It is also limited to the amount of Sulphur allowed in the fuel. Dyed diesel hasn't had the tax collected and is illegal for use in vehicle on public roads. In practice most dyed diesel is also low Sulphur as it doesn't make much sense to make both kinds, and often the same undyed fuel is pumped out of the tank farm for both use, the fuel destined to be for non road use then gets dyed "at the rack" (at the tank farm) while the road fuel does not and tax has to be collected for that fuel.