Phantom’s Stabelmate: ‘56 Porsche Speedster

Just keep it clean please....

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:58 pm

Phantom’s Stabelmate: ‘56 Porsche Speedster

By request, here’s a little history of my ‘56 speedster. Phantom was the first vehicle bought and titled in my name, back in ‘86. The second longest tenured vehicle in my herd is my speedster. In my senior year in college, I took a shine to hot rods and replicas. The speedster, particularly the wide body really caught my imagination. I had pictures pasted to my wall and magazines everywhere. When I graduated, I decided I was going to get one. I didn’t have a garage, so decided to save my pennies and buy one already built. I opened a bank account just to save money and after three years I had enough and found just the right car in Ohio, even though it wasn’t s wide body. With a cashiers check in hand, my mother and I made the 8 hour drive on Friday and I drove the car home on Sunday. Have had a lot of fun with it, including using it as a prop for our wedding.

It started out with a 1600cc with dual Delortos, but after spinning a bearing, I swapped in a 1835 with dual Kadrons. It got relegated to my mother’s barn in 2008 when I needed the garage space to rebuild Mr. Hanky and it didn’t come out until we sold Mom’s place last year. It’s now at a shop in Gettysburg patiently waiting for my mechanic to give it s good once over, install from discs and maybe a few other upgrades. I’m not in a hurry because I don’t have garage space, but do look forward to driving it again.
Last edited by BennettMoe on Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
--Bennett
http://www.mrhankscout.blogspot.com
'78 Scout II Mr. Hanky
'74 D200 4x4 Heavy D
'53 R-112 Phantom
'56 Porsche Speedster replica

Pile of Parts
Pile of Parts

Post Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:02 pm

Re: Phantom’s Stabelmate ‘56 Porsche Speedster

Here she is...
Attachments
92D082E4-B45A-425F-AEB6-60216BC33A28.jpeg
--Bennett
'78 Scout II Mr. Hanky