My 48 KB-1 on a 96 Dakota Frame - TAKE TWO

The "Hot Rod" version of the K and KB truck

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:06 pm

My 48 KB-1 on a 96 Dakota Frame - TAKE TWO

Well after the cab sitting for a year or so waiting for the rest of the parts to be done for an assembly...I found that the paint job that I spent many hours on prep and finishing developed some bubbles and blistering. I did a lot of research and came to the conclusion that contamination of the air was the culprit. I am not a professional painter of vehicles and even though I ended up with a really good looking, orange peel free paint job, it didn't last. I am removing the paint to the primer and starting over.
My advice to anyone considering doing their own paint job is to use an inline desiccant air dryer snake http://www.summitracing.com/parts/dvr-130502/overview/ even if you have a water separator on your compressor. Also, a new hose and drain the tank prior to painting. I now keep the inline snake on my air line at all times, even if I am just blowing off parts from sanding.
The air must have had moisture and or oil in it and it contaminated the surface as I painted. Doing it once was not easy but doing it twice is even harder. You live and you learn and this is how you learn sometimes. :t0116:

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:38 pm

Re: My 48 KB-1 on a 96 Dakota Frame - TAKE TWO

I know I'm late to the party, but is that a split rear window? Very cool!
Is the Dakota frame swap chronicled here on Old IHC?
I never paint anything: no paint=no bubbles or orange peel! :) patina rules!

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:01 pm

Bob-
I'm sorry you're being challenged right now;
but, at least, your bad experience can educate the rest of us. And- When all is said and done, you'll be confident that
the integrity of your paint job will solid. Truck is going to be Awesome!
Paul

Golden Jubilee
Golden Jubilee

Post Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:11 pm