Metro Year identification

The Greatest Van Ever Made!

Rookie
Rookie

Post Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:48 pm

Metro Year identification

Hi everybody, I'm new to this form, I recently acquired a Metro and despite searches upon searches on the internet I am having troubles identifying what year it is. The vehicle does still have the ID tag on it but there is no mention of year on the tag and from what I've read about the serial number it is tough to identify. Does anybody have A way to decode the serial number that would tell me the year of my metro? I appreciate it if you can help, I need to take it through a vehicle inspection and would like my bill of sale to reflect the correct year.

Site Admin
Site Admin

Post Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:25 am

Re: Metro Year identification

Do you have a picture of the Data tag? You will also find the Chassis number on the frame rail on the drivers side from about the steering box to the front of the rail. It will be hand stamped and probably very light, and covered with years of grime. The Chassis number should be 1/2 inch tall numbers. With the Data plate(a clear picture) Should be able to find the chassis number on it, That is the "vin". You can then check the Wisconsin Historical Society, The McCormick collection. Look for the Chassis number list.

Rookie
Rookie

Post Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:29 am

See next post for pictures
Last edited by scotturnot on Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rookie
Rookie

Post Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:15 am

Here is the:
ID plate
Body plate
US Property plate
And a couple of the Van, She is a beauty!
Attachments
truck2.jpg
Truck1.jpg
US tag.jpg
Body plate.jpg
plate.jpg

Site Admin
Site Admin

Post Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:22 pm