Howdy! 1948 KB5

Stop in, say hi, and let us know a little bit about yourself and your project!

Rusty Driver
Rusty Driver

Post Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:58 pm

Howdy! 1948 KB5

Hi all. New member here and live outside the Charlotte, NC area. Originally born & raised in Connecticut. Not new to old cars. I'm 58 years young and been working on cars since I began driving at age 16. I am a Pontiac guy with my first car at 16 being a 1956 Pontiac 4-Dr Ht that I learned to do mechanical work and body repair on. Self taught in mechanics, but went to an auto body school after high school - tried college, but dropped out quickly as more schooling was not for me.

Owned several GTO's (1965 Convert, 1967 Convert, 1968 Ht, 1970 Judge) and other Pontiacs in the early '80's, and got into a lot of trouble with a built dual quad 409CI Chevy engine and 4-speed that I dropped into a '65 Impala SS convertible. Have owned a number of cars from the 50's and 60's and they were all cheap to buy back then. Life did not go according to my plan, but followed a plan of its own. Working on cars became a hobby rather than something I wanted to do for a living. I own several "project" cars. My cruising car is a 1973 Plymouth Gran-Fury 2Dr-Ht while my present project car is my 1968 Lemans 2 Dr-Ht frame up resto-mod with 455CI, 5-speed, and Ford 9" rearend. I have a 1955 Packard Constellation and 1939 Packard hearse body/rolling chassis which I have owned for 28 years. Run down, but still solid, they may be my hotrod retirement projects - maybe.